ARS MUSICA Festival 2020

Ensemble21 presents a multifaceted programme for this concert. Pell-mell, the pieces explore the solo cello in encounter with a sort of electronic double in the piece Trains by the English composer Joanna Bailie, repetition, the chromatic linking of one sound to another in Au dehors, the piece by Jean-Luc Hervé, the sensual dronic music of John-Luther Adams as well as Stefan Hejdrowski’s praise of silence.

Finally, we will attend a world premiere, commissioned by Ars Musica from Nélida Béjar, a multi-faceted composer and founder of the Undercoverfiction Ensemble, who explores a universe on the borders of theatre and musical language.


Eliott DelafosseCrisisfor clarinet solo and tape (premiered by Benjamin Maneyrol in 2020)

Joanna Bailie – Trains – for cello solo and tape

Stefan Hejdrowski – Allegro ma non suonofor cello and piano

Michele Cagol – Greens’ xorfor clarinet, vibraphone, violin, cello and piano (premiered by Ensemble21, 2020)

John Luther AdamsDark Wind for bass clarinet, piano, vibraphone and marimba

Jean-Luc HervéAu dehorsfor clarinet, piano, violin and cello

Nelida BejarSouth Ice – for clarinet, piano, violin, cello, marimba and percussion (premiered by Ensemble21, 2020)


Clarinet/Bass clarinet – Benjamin Maneyrol

Piano – Sara Picavet

Violin – Claire Bourdet

Cello – Merryl Havard

Percussion – Max Charue et Julien Mairesse

Artistic direction – Marc Collet

In co-production with Festival Ars Musica, supported by Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles